Skip to content

Who Are the Puerto Rico Admissions Act Cosponsors?

HR 6246, the Puerto Rico Admissions Act of 2018, started out with 37 cosponsors. As of this writing, there are 43. Who are they?

First, they are a bipartisan group. 19 Democrats and 24 Republicans have cosponsored this bill so far.

Second, they are not the same group that has supported Puerto Rico status bills in the past. Some, like Jose Serrano (D-NY) and Don Young (R-AK) have supported every Puerto Rico status bill since Luis Fortuno introduced HR 4867, the Puerto Rico Democracy Act of 2006.

Others, like Stephanie Murphy (D-FL), have never before had an opportunity to support a Puerto Rico status bill. In fact, six of the Democratic sponsors have never cosponsored a Puerto Rico status bill before.

There are some cosponsors who have been outspoken supporters of statehood for Puerto Rico, such as Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT). Others, like Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), who chairs the Natural Resources Subcommittee on Indian, Insular and Alaska Native Affairs, have not made statements favoring statehood.

Finally, they represent 26 different states and territories. The representatives of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the District of Columbia all have co-sponsored.

States from Florida to California, New Jersey to Missouri, and Idaho to New York are included in the list of states whose representatives are cosponsoring the bill.

See the current list of cosponsors.

The list as of this writing:

Cosponsor and Date Cosponsored
Rep. Bacon, Don [R-NE-2]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Banks, Jim [R-IN-3]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Beatty, Joyce [D-OH-3]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Beyer, Donald S., Jr. [D-VA-8]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Bishop, Rob [R-UT-1]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Bordallo, Madeleine Z. [D-GU-At Large]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Brown, Anthony G. [D-MD-4]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Clay, Wm. Lacy [D-MO-1] 07/16/2018
Rep. Costello, Ryan A. [R-PA-6]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Curbelo, Carlos [R-FL-26]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Denham, Jeff [R-CA-10]* 06/27/2018
Rep. DeSantis, Ron [R-FL-6]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Diaz-Balart, Mario [R-FL-25]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Duffy, Sean P. [R-WI-7]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Esty, Elizabeth H. [D-CT-5]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Fitzpatrick, Brian K. [R-PA-8]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Green, Gene [D-TX-29]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Huffman, Jared [D-CA-2] 07/16/2018
Rep. King, Peter T. [R-NY-2]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Labrador, Raul R. [R-ID-1]* 06/27/2018
Rep. LaMalfa, Doug [R-CA-1]* 06/27/2018
Rep. MacArthur, Thomas [R-NJ-3]* 06/27/2018
Rep. McGovern, James P. [D-MA-2]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Mooney, Alexander X. [R-WV-2] 07/16/2018
Rep. Murphy, Stephanie N. [D-FL-7]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Norton, Eleanor Holmes [D-DC-At Large] 07/16/2018
Rep. Plaskett, Stacey E. [D-VI-At Large]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Radewagen, Aumua Amata Coleman [R-AS-At Large]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Raskin, Jamie [D-MD-8]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana [R-FL-27]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Sablan, Gregorio Kilili Camacho [D-MP-At Large]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Serrano, Jose E. [D-NY-15]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Soto, Darren [D-FL-9]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Stefanik, Elise M. [R-NY-21]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Taylor, Scott [R-VA-2]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Tenney, Claudia [R-NY-22]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Trott, David A. [R-MI-11]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Tsongas, Niki [D-MA-3] 07/16/2018
Rep. Vargas, Juan [D-CA-51]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Wasserman Schultz, Debbie [D-FL-23]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Wilson, Joe [R-SC-2] 07/16/2018
Rep. Yoho, Ted S. [R-FL-3]* 06/27/2018
Rep. Young, Don [R-AK-At Large]* 06/27/2018

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our Magazine, and enjoy exclusive benefits

Subscribe to the online magazine and enjoy exclusive benefits and premiums.

[wpforms id=”133″]