Letter from House Leaders to DOJ Calls for Puerto Rico Statehood Vote

Congressional leaders have written a letter to U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) Acting Attorney General Matthew Whitaker asking for a federally-sponsored plebiscite in Puerto Rico. The letter  – signed by House of Representatives Committee on Natural Resources Chairman Rob Bishop (R-UT), Chairman Emeritus Don Young, Subcommittee on Indian, Insular and Alaska Native Affairs Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), and Puerto Rico Resident Commissioner Jenniffer Gonzalez Colon (R-PR) – reminds the DOJ that funds for a status vote in Puerto Rico were appropriated in 2014 and asks for an up or down vote on statehood.

The congressional leaders sent a similar letter to Puerto Rico Governor Ricardo Rossello, Senate President Thomas Rivera-Schatz and House Speaker Carlos “Johnny” Mendez.

Statehood was chosen by voters in 2012 and 2017, but neither vote was federally sponsored. The letter from Bishop et al asks that the Department of Justice hold a vote like those held in Hawaii and Alaska which led to their statehood.



PDF file of letter


» Ricardo Rosselló - Google News: Risk, Financial Crimes Take Center Stage at Compliance Conference - Caribbean Business 27/11/18 11:10 from Puerto Rico News from Michael_Novakhov

[…] for the # MigrantCaravan drops sharply in Mexico, poll finds. https://www.nbc… » Puerto Rico Report: Letter from House Leaders to DOJ Calls for Puerto Rico Statehood Vote27/11/18 09:23 from Puerto Rico News from Michael_Novakhov (53 sites)Rob Bishop, Raul Grijalva, […]

Leave a Reply